Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Main texts of ayurveda and Astanga Ayurveda

The main texts of ayurveda are-
Brihat Trayee
Charak Samhita, Sushurt Samhita, Astanga Sangrah / Hridaya.
Laghu Trayee
Madhav Nidaan, Sharangdhar Samhita, Bhava Prakash.
Kashyap Samhita, Sahastra Yogam, Yog Ratnakar, Bhaisajya Ratnavali, Bharat Bhaisajya Ratnakar Vol. 1-5.

Eight Branches of Ayurveda (Astanga Ayurveda)
Ayurveda, being a vast science is divided into eight branches, which are collectively called as Astang Ayurveda. Like any other modern medicinal therapies, Ayurveda believes in specialized treatment. Thus, the medicinal art have been categorized as follows

1) Kaya - comprising of general medicine / all somatic disorders
2) Bal - comprising of gynecology, obstetrics, pediatrics
3) Graha - comprising of psychological and psycho-somatic disorders
4) Urdhvang - comprising of ENT, dentistry, ophthalmology, head & brain
5) Shalya - comprising of surgery.
6) Danshtra - comprising of toxicology.
7) Rasayana - comprising of geriatrics & immunological studies
8) Vajikarana - comprising of sexual disorder studies 

please visit dr shahs panchkarma ayurveda clinic

No comments:

Post a Comment